We're here to help!
Call for suggestions or assistance

Oscar's Orchestra Volume 1 DVD



Item: #853121
In Stock, Ready to Ship!
+ add to wishlist

Oscar's Orchestra Vol. 1
The Adventures of Oscar the Piano
with the voice of Dudley Moore as Oscar
2-Disc DVD Set
295 min. (Each adventure is over 22 min.)
Ages 5-8 years

The time is thousands of years in the future. Music has been banned from the world forever by evil dictator Thadius Vent. New Vienna is full of silenced, dispossessed instruments, forced to make a living any way they can, but our hero Oscar, the piano, refuses to remain silent. He rallies his friends - Rebecca and her grandfather, Mr. Crotchet, Eric the Triangle, Trevor the Tuba and Monty the Violin, as they set out on many adventures in their quest to bring music back into the world.

Oscar's Orchestra was designed to inspire children with the delights of classical music and incorporates famous orchestrated works from the great composers in each episode. Episode titles continue the theme.

Oscar's Orchestra has an adult attraction, too, in the form of the late Dudley Moore. Moore was famous for his classical skills with the Grand Piano and is perfectly cast as the voice of Oscar.

This 2-disc set contains 13 episodes from the animated BBC TV series. Each adventure is over 22 minutes long. Each episode features classical music excerpts heard in the background.

The set features music by: Bach, Beethoven, Bizet, Brahms, Britten, Chopin, De Falla, Dukas, Gershwin, Glinka, Grieg, Handel, Holst, Joplin, Mahler, Mendelssohn, Mozart, Mussorgsky, Prokofiev, Ravel, Rimsky-Korsakov, Rossini, Saint-Saens, Shostakovich, Sibelius, J. Strauss, R. Strauss, Stravinsky, Tarrega, Tchaikovsky, Vaughan Williams, Vivaldi and Wagner.

An enclosed sheet lists all of the music excerpts (composition and composer) that are heard during each episode.

A volume 2 is also available separately, 853140.

Disc 1
1. The Battle Begins
2. Bach to the Future
3. Flight of the Bumblebee
4. Star Tours
5. Battle on Ice
6. The Four Seasons
7. Oscar Cracks a Nut

Disc 2
1. 18:12
2. Star Crossed
3. My Kingdom for a Tank
4. Viva Espana!
5. Once Upon a Ragtime
6. The Ring



No reviews available.


Hide answersShow all answers | Sort by
No questions have been asked about this item. Be the first!

Additional Resources

How To Make A Halloween Sound Story

Posted on October 01, 2015

McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Buy BoardAdopt a ClassroomReverbClass WalletEbay
NAMM Believe in MusicNational Association for Music EducationNAMM Top DealersMusic Inc Mag Retail Excellence AwardHoopla Now Four Time WinnerIowa's Creative Cooridor
Current DMA Code: '511'