Sounds Magnificent: The Story of the Symphony DVD


Item: #853141
Sold Out! - No longer available


+ add to wishlist


Sounds Magnificent: The Story of the Orchestra
Featuring Andre Previn and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
3 Disc DVD set
525 min.

This series tells the story of the symphony. In each program, Previn introduces a performance of a major symphonic work. He sets the music to be performed in the context of its composer's life and work, explains the way in which it contributed to the development of the symphonic form and illustrates his comments with the help of the orchestra, who play a variety of supporting extracts.

The music featured in the series is:
Haydn's Symphony No. 87
Mozart's Symphony No. 39
Beethoven's Symphony No. 5 (excerpts) and Symphony No. 7
Berlioz's Symphonie Fantastique
Brahm's Symphony No. 4
Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 6 (Pathetique)
Shostakovich's Symphony No. 5

Disc Contents:
Haydn and Mozart
1. Introduction
2. The Different Lives of Haydn and Mozart
3. The Symphonic Form and the Growth of the Orchestra
4. Mannheim
5. Composition of Early Orchestras
6. Papa Haydn, The Father of the Symphony
Haydn: Symphony No. 87
7. I. Vavace
8. II. Adagio
9. III. Menuet
10. IV. Finale (Vivace)
11. The Travels of the Mozart Family
12. Mozart's Musical Growth
Mozart: Symphony No. 39
13. I. Adagio
14. II. Andante con moto
15. III. Menuetto (Allegretto)
16. IV. Finale (Allegro)
1. Introduction
2. Putting the Raw Materials Together
3. Napoleon and Beethoven
4. Extending Musical Frontiers
5. Symphony No. 5 in C Minor, Op. 67 - I. Allegro con brio
6. Interpreting the Notes
7. The Effect of Beethoven's Deafness on his Work
8. Critical Response and a Critical View of Symphony No. 7
Beethoven: Symphony No. 7 in A Major, Op. 92
9. I. Poco sostenuto - Vivace
10. II. Allegretto
11. III. Presto - Assai meno presto
12. IV. Allegro con brio

1. Introduction
2. Infatuation with Harriet Smithson
3. A New Love and Competing Concerts
4. Berlioz' Revenge
5. Together at Last with Harriet
6. Evaluation of the Symphony
Berlioz: Symphonie Fantastique, Op. 14
7. I. Reveries. Passions
8. II. At the Ball
9. III. Scenes in the Country
10. IV. March to the Scaffold
11. V. Dreams of a Witches' Sabbath
1. Introduction
2. About Brahms and his Symphonies
3. Musical Development & Techniques in Symphony No. 4
Brahms: Symphony No. 4 in E Minor, Op. 98
4. I. Allegro non troppo
5. II. Andante moderato
6. III. Allegro giocoso - Poco meno presto - Tempo I
7. IV. Allegro energico e passionato - Piu allegro

1. Introduction
2. About Tchaikovsky
3. A Program Symphony
4. An Overview of Symphony No. 6
5. Speculation and Truth about Tchaikovsky's Death
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 in B Minor, Op. 74 "Pathetique"
6. I. Adagio - Allegro non troppo - Andante - Moderato mosso - Andante - Moderato assai - Allegro vivo - Andante come prima - Andante mosso
7. II. Allegro con grazia 
8. III. Allegro molto vivace 
9. IV. Finale: Adagio lamentoso - Andante 
1. Introduction 
2. New Ideas in Symphonic Writing 
3. Ralph Vaughan Williams: Symphony No. 5 in D: III. Romanza (Lento) 4. Preconceived Notions 
5. Roy Harris: Symphony No. 3 - Conclusion 
6. About Shostakovich 
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 5 in D Minor, Op. 47 
7. I. Moderato 
8. II. Allegretto 
9. III. Largo 
10. IV. Allegro no troppo



No reviews available.


Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
No questions have been asked about this item. Be the first!

Additional Resources

Request a catalog to be delivered to your door
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams